Page 1 of 1

Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Sun Jul 07, 2019 9:57 pm
by coal digger
Hi chaps and chappesses.Having never owned a pi unit i'm unaware with their characteristics,specifically their recognition to coal and coke. i have an ongoing project which i need more depth than the racer can give me so looking down the pi route rather than vlf.

It would be appreciated for any info on the Pi units by those who use or have used them.

Cheers cd ::g

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Tue Jul 09, 2019 9:53 pm
by coal digger
Oh no,the dreaded zero reply 8-| 8-| what happens next??, does the " 0" get dragged away and thrown onto a pile and then back filled under the passage of time :D .

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 2:04 am
by Easylife
FWIW, I don't really think a PI unit would see coal or coke. Not all PI units are the same though as some do have a form of discrimination. The Minelab GPX 4500 & 5000's are really quite awesome but I've only used them in non-UK highly mineralised ground. The Garrett ATX is very capable, My White's TDI is quite tunable to specific targets, and the CS4PI will just detect whatever it sees including iron. If your site contains much iron then you might need a PI that is capable of tuning it out to some degree? So what's the ground like? x;

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 2:34 am
by Ladybird66
As I’ve never owned a PI machine I ain’t got a clue but common sense says it would pick up coke. They’re s'posed to see everything, aren’t they ?

It would probably have picked up the piece I found on my last outing. I cracked it open when I got home, out of curiosity, it had iron pyrite in it.

Surprised no one answered your query :(

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:28 am
by ROCK HOPPER
Don't know about coal but they certainly pick up the lumps of clay on Crantock beach!!!

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:30 am
by sweepstick47
In the absence of a definitive answer as yet, an email to your local supplier should do the trick.
My own logic 8-| suggests that, as coke is a capacitive mineral (capable of holding an electric charge) I find it difficult to see how a PI machine would not react positively to coke. - in one way or another.
Perhaps the answer depends upon how PI machine in general deal with capacitive targets as there may be machine/circuit design variables to consider. Regards ss47

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:35 am
by Ladybird66
ROCK HOPPER wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:28 am
Don't know about coal but they certainly pick up the lumps of clay on Crantock beach!!!

Do you check what’s inside the lumps of clay ?

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 2:09 pm
by jcmaloney
GPX5000 takes coke out.
Struggles with small iron that lacks the volume/bulk to trip the discrimination.
The user has to learn to listen for the audio "break" but will still dig small iron! ::g

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 11:20 pm
by coal digger
Thanks for the replies and insight guys ::g . The land in question is the worst case scenario
Layer 1 is a blanket of crushed coal and coke.
Layer 2 is massive iron infestation due to several bloomery's so nails and odd ball shapes of iron
Layer 3 is hard packed stone and extremely hard to dig(20 mins for a small hole).
Layer 4.....Nectar....if i ever get there x;
cd ::g

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Wed Jul 10, 2019 11:43 pm
by Saffron
Having used the Racer (Racer 2, not original "Red"Racer) and then changed to the Nox I am confident that the Nox punches deeper than the Racer.

So would something like the Nox, and there are other deep punching machines out there, possibly meet your needs without the possible issues raised by the use of a PI machine?.

I openly accept that I do not know how the Nox compares with a PI machine regarding depth. So it could be that you have already looked at this idea and know that the pi machine is a better option for what seems a very specific, and interesting!, project.

Evan

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 7:22 am
by Wigeon
coal digger wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 11:20 pm
Thanks for the replies and insight guys ::g . The land in question is the worst case scenario
Layer 1 is a blanket of crushed coal and coke.
Layer 2 is massive iron infestation due to several bloomery's so nails and odd ball shapes of iron
Layer 3 is hard packed stone and extremely hard to dig(20 mins for a small hole).
Layer 4.....Nectar....if i ever get there x;
cd ::g
Blimey CD, you like a challenge !! x;

I recently posted a PI enquiry thread viewtopic.php?f=12&t=112534
Different situation to yours but some interesting and relevant answers from our members.

I made lots of enquiries regarding PI machines but have shelved the idea for the time being.

It seems that only the higher-end machines have some discrimination ability (minelab GPX and similar) and they don't come cheap. I almost had a rush of blood to the head and bought a GPX4800 but changed my mind after hearing Fred's views on the CTX capabilities.

Another concern I had, after watching lots of YouTube footage was that it would do my head in with all the noise.

Perhaps the real killer for using a PI is your 'level 2' though ?

Best wishes for success with whichever course you take. ::g

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:30 am
by ROCK HOPPER
Ladybird66 wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:35 am
ROCK HOPPER wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:28 am
Don't know about coal but they certainly pick up the lumps of clay on Crantock beach!!!

Do you check what’s inside the lumps of clay ?
No but I used my SE Pro in the same place and got no signal.

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:32 am
by ROCK HOPPER
Ladybird66 wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:35 am
ROCK HOPPER wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:28 am
Don't know about coal but they certainly pick up the lumps of clay on Crantock beach!!!

Do you check what’s inside the lumps of clay ?
No as I said on a previous post I used my SE Pro in the same place and didn't get a signal.

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:54 pm
by Ladybird66
ROCK HOPPER wrote:
Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:32 am
Ladybird66 wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:35 am
ROCK HOPPER wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:28 am
Don't know about coal but they certainly pick up the lumps of clay on Crantock beach!!!

Do you check what’s inside the lumps of clay ?
No as I said on a previous post I used my SE Pro in the same place and didn't get a signal.
I wonder if that is common with pointers. My Garret pro always agrees with whichever machine I’ve used.
Lumps of black stuff are common on my beaches. Always bring them home to investigate. Found a George 3rd sixpence in one of them. Usual beach scrap in nearly all the others.
Always worth checking ::g

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 9:57 am
by ROCK HOPPER
Ladybird66 wrote:
Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:54 pm
ROCK HOPPER wrote:
Thu Jul 11, 2019 10:32 am
Ladybird66 wrote:
Wed Jul 10, 2019 10:35 am



Do you check what’s inside the lumps of clay ?
No as I said on a previous post I used my SE Pro in the same place and didn't get a signal.
I wonder if that is common with pointers. My Garret pro always agrees with whichever machine I’ve used.
Lumps of black stuff are common on my beaches. Always bring them home to investigate. Found a George 3rd sixpence in one of them. Usual beach scrap in nearly all the others.
Always worth checking ::g
We get a lot of concretion on our beaches and I always take them home and hit them with a hammer, best find two £1 coins in one piece. The very large lumps of clay are falling out of the cliff so I doubt that they would contain anything.

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:00 am
by jcmaloney
If you are using an FBS type machine (like an SE) then turn the discrim off completely. Sounds mad but..............

On an iron infested "carpet" the iron tone becomes the background "tone/noise", then you just listen for the positive "munphs & bumphs" in the audio.

::g ::g

Re: Does coal register on pulse induction machines?.

Posted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:32 pm
by sweepstick47
jcmaloney wrote:
Fri Jul 12, 2019 10:00 am
If you are using an FBS type machine (like an SE) then turn the discrim off completely. Sounds mad but..............

On an iron infested "carpet" the iron tone becomes the background "tone/noise", then you just listen for the positive "munphs & bumphs" in the audio. ::g ::g
I just love a few advanced technical expressions jcm :)) ::g ss47