Interested in getting into Metal Detecting

This is not compulsory but if you would like to tell us a little about yourself then post here.
Chris_T

Interested in getting into Metal Detecting

Post by Chris_T » Tue Mar 26, 2019 9:49 pm

Hello one and all,

I am Interested in getting into Metal Detecting as a hobbyist. I have never seriously gone detecting, just playing around really. The irony of this is that I used to make them for a living. I was an electronics engineer at Pulse Technology in Abingdon back in the 90's making and servicing Goldscan's, SuperScan and such like. I used to work with Eric Foster (Pulse Power - DeepScan, Sandpiper, etc.) who, as I have found out, is a bit of a legend on the forums. I have a more electronics technical background and can tell you how they work, how to set them up and repair them but do not really know much about the hobby.

I have a P.I. machine that I built myself a long time back, but would like to find out a bit more about the hobby. I thought I may go to a local club to get some more background info. I will trawl the forum for tips and information and look forward to exchanging some emails in the future with some of you.

All the best, Chris_T.

Oxgirl36

Re: Interested in getting into Metal Detecting

Post by Oxgirl36 » Tue Mar 26, 2019 10:01 pm

Chris, a very warm welcome to the forum. I have absolutely no idea how the things are built or really anything other than the bare essentials of how they work, so you’ll have a head start on quite a few of us. To be honest I’m not that interested (did I just say that =)) ) despite working with electrical stuff as my day job. But using them is wonderful.

You might be interested in the beginners event if you want to know more about to use them viewtopic.php?f=35&t=108024

You’ll be hooked in no time ::g
Carpe vinum

XP Deus !!£$ I use the HOT programme on 17khz, reactivity at 2.5 on v5.21 with the X35 11” coil

Hammered silver 2019 - 20 8=ypr

Blackadder43
Admin